Hierarchy refers to the system of categorization based on the importance of work assigned or in terms of position held. When we talk about such categorization in angels we make them specific and that leads to archangel. Archangel is the word used to represent very specific angels whose roles and positions are clearly defined. They got an upper edge when compared to others.
Angel hierarchy is the belief system of almost all the religions and philosophies. Though there are differences in ideologies. But the base value remains same; every religion supports the theory of angel hierarchy.
In angel hierarchy some of the archangels which are at high degree and having set responsibilities include 9 levels. The hierarchy system based on spiritual doctrine available from some of the ancient holy books is:
1. Seraphim
2. Cherubim
3. Thrones
4. Dominions
5. Virtues
6. Powers
7. Principalities
8. Archangels
9. Angels

You will find a lot of information on the subject here: rebeccaspardig.com

Published by